30 30

30 years of ├ľkoFEN - Celebrate with us!

Watch the video ÔÇô and win!

Enter now

Dive in

Pioneering spirit ÔÇô Environmental protection ÔÇô Partnership ÔÇô Quality

├ľkoFEN has stood for this for 30 years. Around 90,000 modern pellet boilers have been installed since the company was founded on 27 October 1989, bringing about a reduction in CO2 emissions of over 6.5 million tonnes!

Dive in ...

into a special kind of development history!

├ľkoFEN ÔÇô A pioneer story
magic hat

Competitions

Select a category and enter ÔÇô Fantastic prizes await you...

Owners of an ├ľkoFEN heating system

  • 1x trip to Argentina to the worldÔÇÖs remotest ├ľkoFEN pellet heating system, including flights, hotel and a visit to the Iguazu Waterfalls
    for 2 people

  • 1x stay in an ÔÇťimperial hotelÔÇŁ for 4 days in Austria
    for 2 people

  • 5x heat for free for 1 year
    (max. 4 tonnes)

New customers


  • 1x 30% special discount on a new ├ľkoFEN pellet heating system
    (max. ÔéČ┬á3000)

Trade partners


  • 30 x 3% special discount on one order in the period from 26┬áSeptember to 25┬áOctober 2019

Our history

From a sector trailblazer to a global premium supplier

1989

The beginning of a vision

Herbert Ortner sets out to make renewable heat a viable option for the family home. He resigns his post as Managing Director of the heater factory in Lembach and begins the biomass heating adventure in his parents-in-lawÔÇÖs converted cowshed. The aim was to defy the worldwide oil crisis in his densely forested homeland and to supply residential dwellings with heat from environmentally friendly, convenient wood-fired boilers rather than fossil heating systems.

1997

The pioneering achievement

Herbert Ortner succeeds in winning over partners in the timber industry, allowing ├ľkoFEN to present the world's first type-approved pellet boiler ÔÇô the ├ľkoFEN Pellematic ÔÇô at the ÔÇťEnergiesparmesseÔÇŁ energy saving trade fair in Wels. This pioneering achievement attracts a great deal of attention and marks the beginning of rapid market development. The new level of convenience offers customers an alternative to heating with oil. Series production of the Pellematic also begins in this year. The timber industry follows suit, turning what was previously worthless sawdust into a high grade fuel and creating substantial added value.

2004

Pellet condensing technology

The technology continues to evolve at a pace and ├ľkoFEN presents the world's first pellet heating system with condensing technology. The Pellematic Plus marks the development of another pioneering pellet boiler, which allows the maximum output to be obtained from the fuel. Condensing technology enables utilisation of the latent heat of condensation present in the flue gas, since this is fed back into the heating system.

It soon became clear to me that condensing technology is an absolute ÔÇťmustÔÇŁ for modern pellet heating systems. We simply had to succeed in keeping heating with pellets in pace with the times.

├ľkoFEN founder Herbert Ortner

2006

Culmination of the first growth phase

A total of around 6600 pellet boilers are sold during the course of this year. Furthermore, the heating centre is introduced as a new product segment. This provides the ideal solution if there is no space in the building for a heating system or pellet store, or the existing rooms need to be used for other purposes.

2007

Expansion despite crisis

The unwavering belief in the success of the idea drives ├ľkoFEN incessantly onwards. Despite a major market slump due to short-term supply bottlenecks with pellets, two facilities in Austria are expanded in order to be prepared for the future. The company HQ is relocated to Niederkappel. The new site consists of a 6500m┬▓ production hall and an 800m┬▓ administration building. In addition, component production is expanded in Purgstall.

It was not always easy to plan capacity correctly. We have always focussed on respectful and appreciative relations with our employees here at ├ľkoFEN.

├ľkoFEN founder Elfriede Ortner

2008

Like a phoenix from the ashes

After the serious crisis, ├ľkoFEN records the best year in the companyÔÇÖs history. To meet market requirements, the Pellematic line is updated with a 56kW version and the comfort ash box. The product range is also extended with the Pellesol solar collector and the Pellaqua buffer cylinder.

├ľkoFEN's German head office in Mickhausen near Augsburg is inaugurated. The building comprises 3000m┬▓ of production space and 800m┬▓ for offices.

2010

Non-stop innovations

Together Stefan, Herbert and Elfriede Ortner lead the ÔÇťinnovation factoryÔÇŁ. In the form of the Pellematic Smart, ├ľkoFEN presents the worldÔÇÖs first heating system for low-energy buildings and ÔÇťpassive housesÔÇŁ, which combines heat from pellets and solar panels together with the heating hydraulics in the smallest of spaces. This year also sees development of the improved Flexilo Compact and the Pelletronic Touch heating controller. These enable convenient pellet storage and heating system operation of the highest standard.

2012

Generate electricity with pellets

The latest vision of the pellet specialist is the ├ľkoFEN_e project. Alongside heat for living areas, development of a combined heat and power system also aims to generate green electricity with pellets in future for households and for charging electric vehicles. Power generation is made possible by a Stirling engine integrated in the pellet boiler.

2015

Pellematic CONDENS ÔÇô A new dimension in pellet condensing technology

The concept of condensing technology has continuously been developed at ├ľkoFEN. The revolution took place in 2015 when the backpacked system was optimally integrated into the boiler. The highly efficient condensing boilers were also equipped with the advantage of unlimited return temperature. Today, ├ľkoFEN condensing boilers have hardly measurable emissions and convince with impressive efficiencies of up to 107.9%.

2017 - myEnergy365

the dream of energy freedom comes true

myEnergy365 from ├ľkoFEN is the answer to the question of how to generate electricity and heat independently and ecologically in your own home. The energy system combines a photovoltaic system and a storage battery with the power-producing pellet heating system. The result is year-round independence in electricity and heat. This concept impresses the specialist world and becomes the spearhead of todayÔÇÖs pellet heating technology.

We are proud to be able to offer the world's only opportunity to supply a building with all its energy needs from renewable sources. After refilling the pellet store once, no more energy needs to be purchased for the rest of the year.

├ľkoFEN Managing Director Stefan Ortner

2018

A record-breaking year

Thanks to highly efficient, convenient products and an increasingly conscious awareness of climate change, 2018 proves to be best year so far in the companyÔÇÖs history with sales of approx. 7500 pellet boilers. This is followed by expansion of the companyÔÇÖs facility in its anniversary year 2019.

Contact us

├ľkoFEN Forschungs- & Entwicklungs Ges.m.b.H.
A-4133 Niederkappel, Gewerbepark 1
Tel.: +43 (0) 7286 74 50

30 30

30 Jahre √ĖkoFEN - Feiern Sie mit uns!

Video ansehen - und gewinnen!

Jetzt mitmachen

Tauchen Sie ein

Pioniergeist - Umweltschutz - Partnerschaft - Qualität

F√ľr das steht √ĖkoFEN seit 30 Jahren. In etwa 90.000 moderne Pelletheizungen wurden seit der Firmengr√ľndung am 27. Oktober 1989 installiert und haben eine CO2 - Reduktion von √ľber 6,5 Millionen Tonnen bewirkt!

Tauchen Sie ein ...

in eine Entstehungsgeschichte der besonderen Art!

√ĖkoFEN - Eine Pioniergeschichte
magic hat

Gewinnspiele

Kategorie w√§hlen und mitspielen ‚Äď Tolle Preise warten auf Sie‚Ķ.

Besitzer einer √ĖkoFEN Heizung

  • 1 x Argentinienreise zur weitest-entfernten √ĖkoFEN Pelletheizung der Welt inkl. Flug, Hotel und Besichtigung der Iguazu Wasserf√§lle
    f√ľr 2 Personen

  • 1 x Reise in ein "kaiserliches Hotel" f√ľr 4 Tage nach √Ėsterreich
    f√ľr 2 Personen

  • 5 x 1 Jahr gratis heizen
    (max. 4 Tonnen)

Neukunde


  • 1 x 30% Sonderrabatt auf eine neue √ĖkoFEN Pelletheizung
    (max. ‚ā¨ 3.000,-)

Fachhandwerks-partner

  • 30 x 3% Sonderrabatt auf eine Bestellung im Zeitraum von 26. September bis 25. Oktober 2019

Unsere Geschichte

Vom Wegbereiter einer Branche zum weltweiten Premium-Anbieter

1989

Der Beginn der Vision

Herbert Ortner macht sich auf den Weg, um erneuerbare W√§rme im Einfamilienhaus zu erm√∂glichen. Er k√ľndigt seinen Posten als Gesch√§ftsf√ľhrer des Heizk√∂rperwerks in Lembach und startet im umgebauten Kuhstall der Schwiegereltern das Abenteuer Biomasseheizung. Ziel war es, in seiner waldreichen Heimat der weltweiten √Ėlkrise zu trotzen und Wohnh√§user ohne fossile Heizsysteme mit umweltfreundlichen und komfortablen Holzheizungen mit W√§rme zu versorgen.

1997

Die große Pionierleistung

Nachdem Herbert Ortner Partner in der Holzindustrie gewinnen konnte, pr√§sentiert √ĖkoFEN bei der Energiesparmesse in Wels die erste typengepr√ľfte Pelletsheizung der Welt ‚Äď die √ĖkoFEN Pellematic. Diese Pionierleistung sorgt f√ľr gro√ües Aufsehen und ist der Beginn einer rasanten Marktentwicklung. Das neue Komfortniveau er√∂ffnet Kunden eine Alternative zum Heizen mit √Ėl. In diesem Jahr startet zugleich die Serienfertigung der Pellematic. Die Holzindustrie zieht dieser Entwicklung nach, aus den vormals wertlosen S√§gesp√§nen wird ein hochwertiger Brennstoff und ein betr√§chtlicher Mehrwert.

2004

Pellets-Brennwerttechnik

Die Technik entwickelt sich stetig weiter und √ĖkoFEN pr√§sentiert die weltweit erste Pelletsheizung mit Brennwerttechnik. Mit der Pellematic Plus wird so ein weiterer richtungsweisender Pelletskessel entwickelt, der es erm√∂glicht das Maximum aus dem Brennstoff herauszuholen. Mithilfe der Brennwerttechnik ist die Nutzung der im Abgas enthaltenen Kondensationsw√§rme m√∂glich, da diese dem Heizsystem wieder zugef√ľhrt wird.

Mir wurde schnell klar, dass die Brennwerttechnik ein absolutes ‚ÄěMuss‚Äú f√ľr die moderne Pelletheizung ist. Es musste uns einfach gelingen das zu erm√∂glichen, um beim Heizen mit Pellets am Puls der Zeit zu bleiben.

√ĖkoFEN Gr√ľnder Herbert Ortner

2006

Gipfel der ersten Wachstumsphase

Insgesamt werden in diesem Jahr um die 6.600 Pelletskessel verkauft. Dar√ľber hinaus wird als neues Produktsegment die Heizzentrale eingef√ľhrt. Damit wird die ideale L√∂sung angeboten, wenn in Geb√§uden kein Platz f√ľr eine Heizanlage oder ein Pelletslager ist, oder die vorhandenen R√§ume anderweitig genutzt werden m√ľssen.

2007

Ausbau trotz Krise

Der unersch√ľtterliche Glaube an den Erfolg der Idee treibt √ĖkoFEN unaufh√∂rlich voran. Trotz eines gro√üen Markteinbruchs aufgrund von kurzfristigen Lieferengp√§ssen bei Pellets, werden in √Ėsterreich zwei Standorte ausgebaut, um f√ľr die Zukunft ger√ľstet zu sein. Die Firmenzentrale wird nach Niederkappel verlegt. Der neue Standort umfasst eine 6.500m¬≤ gro√üe Produktionshalle und 800m¬≤ Verwaltungsgeb√§ude. Zudem wird die Komponentenfertigung in Purgstall erweitert.

Es war nicht immer einfach, die Kapazit√§ten richtig zu planen. Im Fokus stand bei √ĖkoFEN immer der respektvolle und wertsch√§tzende Umgang mit unseren Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern.

√ĖkoFEN Gr√ľnderin Elfriede Ortner

2008

Wie der Phönix aus der Asche

Nach der schweren Krise schreibt √ĖkoFEN das beste Jahr der Unternehmensgeschichte. Den Marktanforderungen entsprechend erg√§nzen eine 56 kW Version und die Komfort-Aschebox die Pellematic-Linie. Das Produktsortiment wird zudem um den Solarkollektor Pellesol und den Pufferspeicher Pellaqua erweitert.

Die Deutschland-Zentrale von √ĖkoFEN in Mickhausen in der N√§he von Augsburg wird eingeweiht. Das Geb√§ude umfasst 3.000m¬≤ Produktionsfl√§che und 800m¬≤ B√ľro.

2010

Innovationen am laufenden Band

Stefan, Herbert und Elfriede Ortner leiten gemeinsam die ‚ÄěInnovationsfabrik‚Äú. Mit der Pellematic Smart pr√§sentiert √ĖkoFEN ein weltweit neues Heizsystem f√ľr Niedrigenergie- und Passivh√§user, das Pellets- und Solarw√§rme sowie die Heizungshydraulik auf geringstem Raum kombiniert. Dar√ľber hinaus wird der verbesserte Flexilo Compact und Heizkreisregler Pelletronic Touch entwickelt. Komfortable Pelletslagerung und Heizungsbedienung auf neuem Niveau wird so erm√∂glicht.

2012

Strom erzeugen mit Pellets

Die neueste Vision des Pelletsspezialisten ist das Projekt √ĖkoFEN_e. Neben der W√§rme f√ľr den Wohnraum soll durch die Entwicklung eines Kraft-W√§rme-Kopplungssystems k√ľnftig mit Pellets auch √Ėkostrom f√ľr den eigenen Haushalt und zur Betankung von Elektrofahrzeugen erzeugt werden. Die Stromerzeugung wird durch einen in die Pelletheizung integrierten Stirling-Motor erm√∂glicht.

2015

Pellematic CONDENS ‚Äď Die neue Dimension der Pellet-Brennwerttechnik

Das Konzept der Brennwerttechnik wurde bei √ĖkoFEN stets weiterentwickelt. 2015 erfolgte die Revolution - Der anf√§nglich nachgeschaltete Brennwert-W√§rmetauscher wurde optimal in den Kessel integriert. Die hocheffizienten Brennwertkessel wurden zudem mit dem Vorteil der unlimitierten R√ľcklauftemperatur ausgestattet. √ĖkoFEN Brennwertger√§te weisen heute kaum messbare Emissionen auf und √ľberzeugen mit beachtlichen Wirkungsgraden von bis zu 107,9%.

2017 - myEnergy365

der Traum von der Energiefreiheit wird wahr

myEnergy365 von √ĖkoFEN ist die Antwort auf die Frage der unabh√§ngigen und √∂kologischen Strom- und W√§rmeerzeugung im Eigenheim. Das Energiesystem vereint erstmals eine PV-Anlage und einen Stromspeicher mit der stromerzeugenden Pelletheizung. Das Ergebnis ist ganzj√§hrige Unabh√§ngigkeit bei Strom und W√§rme. Damit begeistert das Konzept die Fachwelt und wird zur Speerspitze der heutigen Pelletheiztechnik.

Wir sind stolz, damit weltweit die einzige Möglichkeit anbieten zu können, das Haus völlig aus erneuerbaren Energien zu versorgen. Mit dem einmaligen Tanken von Pellets muss das ganze restliche Jahr keine Energie mehr zugekauft werden.

√ĖkoFEN Gesch√§ftsf√ľhrer Stefan Ortner

2018

Das bisherige Rekordjahr

Durch hocheffiziente, komfortable Produkte und die immer bewusstere Wahrnehmung des Klimawandels wurde 2018, mit ca. 7.500 verkauften Pelletheizungen zum bisherigen Rekordjahr der Firmengeschichte. Eine Erweiterung des Firmenstandorts im Jubiläumsjahr 2019 erfolgt.

Kontaktieren Sie uns

√ĖkoFEN Forschungs- & Entwicklungs Ges.m.b.H.
A-4133 Niederkappel, Gewerbepark 1
Tel.: +43 (0) 7286 74 50